Apache NetBeans

4,3 (228)
¡Escribe una opinión!
IDE de código abierto que proporciona plantillas y editores de código inteligente

Calificación general

4,3 /5
(228)
Relación calidad-precio
4,5/5
Funcionalidades
4,3/5
Facilidad de uso
4,2/5
Asistencia al cliente
3,9/5

87%
de los usuarios recomienda esta aplicación
Ordenar por

228 opiniones

Luis Alejandro
Calificación general
  • Sector: Educación superior
  • Tamaño de la empresa: 10.000+ empleados
  • Software usado Semanalmente durante Más de un año
  • Fuente de la opinión

Calificación general

  • Relación calidad-precio
  • Facilidad de uso
  • Asistencia al cliente
  • Probabilidad de recomendación 10.0 /10

NetBeans: Un IDE versátil y gratuito

Revisado el 2/11/2023

Mi experiencia general con Apache NetBeans ha sido positiva. Lo he utilizado en una variedad de...

Mi experiencia general con Apache NetBeans ha sido positiva. Lo he utilizado en una variedad de proyectos, especialmente en el desarrollo en Java, y ha sido confiable y efectivo para la mayoría de mis proyectos.

Puntos a favor

Lo que más me ha impresionado de NetBeans es su versatilidad y el hecho de que sea totalmente gratuito. Esta herramienta es compatible con una amplia variedad de lenguajes y tecnologías. La interfaz es fácil de usar, y las funciones de depuración y edición de código son excelentes. No tener que pagar por esta potente herramienta es una gran ventaja frente a otras que pueden llegar a ser bastante costosas.

Desventajas

NetBeans puede ralentizarse un poco en proyectos enormes y complejos en comparación con algunas alternativas comerciales. La asistencia al cliente tampoco es su punto fuerte, y su ecosistema de complementos podría ser más extenso para ofrecer una mayor personalización. Personalmente, creo que la interfaz de usuario podría actualizarse pues se ve un poco antigua.

Alternativas consideradas

Eclipse IDE y Visual Studio Code

Razones para elegir Apache NetBeans

Opté por NetBeans debido a que soporta varias tecnologías clave que necesitaba en mis proyectos, y eran más fáciles de integrar que en IntelliJ IDEA.

Software anterior

IntelliJ IDEA

Razones para cambiar a Apache NetBeans

Opté por NetBeans debido a que es gratuito y tiene un amplio soporte de tecnologías que necesito para mis proyectos.
Rosa maria
Rosa maria
Calificación general
  • Sector: Hospital y atención sanitaria
  • Tamaño de la empresa: 501-1.000 empleados
  • Software usado A diario durante 6-12 meses
  • Fuente de la opinión

Calificación general

  • Relación calidad-precio
  • Facilidad de uso
  • Asistencia al cliente
  • Probabilidad de recomendación 10.0 /10

NetBeans me ayudó en realizar paginas web y también software con java.

Revisado el 27/12/2022

Realicé muchos software, paginas web y diseños en linea de comando gracias a este hermoso Software.

Realicé muchos software, paginas web y diseños en linea de comando gracias a este hermoso Software.

Puntos a favor

Su edición es muy simple, además que las clases, los archivos, los plugin se puede encontrar en el mismo NetBeans. La depuración del código es una de sus mejores funciones y en verdad detecta el error.

Desventajas

El diseño no es muy moderno, espero mejore. La rapidez de ejecución en un software grande, a veces es lento.

Alternativas consideradas

Visual Studio Code

Razones para cambiar a Apache NetBeans

Lo elegí porque es una de las grandes empresas IDE para softwares.
Catalina
Catalina
Calificación general
  • Sector: Hospital y atención sanitaria
  • Tamaño de la empresa: 201-500 empleados
  • Software usado Semanalmente durante Más de dos años
  • Fuente de la opinión

Calificación general

  • Facilidad de uso
  • Probabilidad de recomendación 10.0 /10

IDE Perfecto

Revisado el 8/12/2022

Decidí aprender a programar independientemente en Java, empecé a usar este IDE por recomendación de...

Decidí aprender a programar independientemente en Java, empecé a usar este IDE por recomendación de amigos y familiares que estudiaron Ingeniería de Sistemas y me ha encantado, es muy sencillo de usar, la interfaz no es compleja de entender y me ha gustado aprender sobre este IDE de programación. Lo recomiendo bastante.

Puntos a favor

La estabilidad que Apache NetBeans ofrece es única y es muy raro que falle al momento de hacer desarrollo.

Desventajas

Debería permitir agregar más temas a la interfaz, sería solo eso.

Alternativas consideradas

IntelliJ IDEA
Antonio
Calificación general
  • Sector: Investigación
  • Tamaño de la empresa: 51-200 empleados
  • Software usado A diario durante Más de dos años
  • Fuente de la opinión

Calificación general

  • Facilidad de uso
  • Probabilidad de recomendación 8.0 /10

Bueno para empezar a programar, no tanto para uso profesional

Revisado el 20/12/2022

Puntos a favor

Empecé con este IDE a programar en java y su entorno lo veo muy amigable para familiarizarse y desarrollar aplicaciones con entorno gráfico, hice la carrera con este IDE. Si quieres hacer uso de java.awt, su interfaz te lo permite sin problemas y es bastante limpia al respecto.

Desventajas

Eclipse lo veo más potente que netbeans a la hora de dedicarse de forma profesional, puedes usar la versión enterprise y desarrollar servidores en java usando spring y springBoot de una manera bastante cómoda.

Miguel
Miguel
Calificación general
  • Sector: Fabricación de productos eléctricos/electrónicos
  • Tamaño de la empresa: 201-500 empleados
  • Software usado A diario durante Más de dos años
  • Fuente de la opinión

Calificación general

  • Facilidad de uso
  • Probabilidad de recomendación 2.0 /10

compilador pesado

Revisado el 12/12/2022

Puntos a favor

es un programa para desarrollar en mi caso en java que es muy facil de usar con muchos plugins que te permiten usar facilmente y adaptar tu entorno a diferentes entornos de los distintos lenguajes.

Desventajas

es un poco pesado a la hora de compilar y en ocasiones da errores que son del propio compilador o de que no funciona correctamente en plugin con la version.

Daniel
Calificación general
  • Sector: Salud, bienestar y deporte
  • Tamaño de la empresa: 11-50 empleados
  • Software usado A diario durante Más de un año
  • Fuente de la opinión

Calificación general

  • Facilidad de uso
  • Probabilidad de recomendación 10.0 /10

Muy bueno

Revisado el 23/5/2023

Puntos a favor

Su facilidad de uso y cantidad de contenido web para ayudar con el desarrollo

Desventajas

A veces el programa presentaba problemas de compatibilidad o simplemente no funcionaban proyectos realizados anteriormente

David
Calificación general
  • Sector: Tecnología y servicios de la información
  • Tamaño de la empresa: 2-10 empleados
  • Software usado A diario durante Más de dos años
  • Fuente de la opinión

Calificación general

  • Facilidad de uso
  • Probabilidad de recomendación 10.0 /10

Un IDE Clásico todoterreno

Revisado el 13/2/2023

Puntos a favor

Es una herramienta flexible y cómoda que se adapta casi a cualquier desarrollo. Cuenta con herramientas que otros IDEs no tienen y encima, es gratuito.

Desventajas

Necesita bastantes recursos para funcionar, es bastante pesado.

Marlon Andres
Calificación general
  • Sector: Tecnología y servicios de la información
  • Tamaño de la empresa: 201-500 empleados
  • Software usado Mensualmente durante Más de un año
  • Fuente de la opinión

Calificación general

  • Relación calidad-precio
  • Facilidad de uso
  • Asistencia al cliente
  • Probabilidad de recomendación 6.0 /10

Netbeans

Revisado el 7/2/2023

Puntos a favor

Maneja muchos lenguajes de programación los cuales se pueden integrar entre si

Desventajas

La complejidad para compilar el mismo proyecto en máquinas diferentes , ya que cuando se exporta el proyecto a otro equipo , muchas veces las librerías fallan

Alternativas consideradas

MySQL
Franco
Calificación general
  • Sector: Software informático
  • Tamaño de la empresa: 501-1.000 empleados
  • Software usado A diario durante 1-5 meses
  • Fuente de la opinión

Calificación general

  • Facilidad de uso
  • Probabilidad de recomendación 10.0 /10

Reseña de futuro programador

Revisado el 2/11/2022

Puntos a favor

Creo que la capacidad de las importaciones de metodos, la interfaz,no es demasiado novedosa y eso me atrae

Desventajas

La funcion depurar podria ser ampliamente mejorable

Usuario verificado
Calificación general
  • Sector: Desarrollo de programas
  • Tamaño de la empresa: 11-50 empleados
  • Software usado Mensualmente durante 6-12 meses
  • Fuente de la opinión

Calificación general

  • Relación calidad-precio
  • Facilidad de uso
  • Asistencia al cliente
  • Probabilidad de recomendación 10.0 /10

Netbeans - Java

Revisado el 23/9/2022

Puntos a favor

La facilidad que nos da para codificar y su facilidad con la creación de interfaz gráfica

Desventajas

Al inicio de complica un poco el enlazar con otras apps como Mongo db

Jose Alejandro
Jose Alejandro
Calificación general
  • Sector: Software informático
  • Tamaño de la empresa: Trabajador autónomo
  • Software usado Mensualmente durante Prueba gratis
  • Fuente de la opinión

Calificación general

  • Facilidad de uso
  • Probabilidad de recomendación 6.0 /10

Buen editor de codigo

Revisado el 27/5/2023

Puntos a favor

Su facilidad a la hora de programar en Java

Desventajas

Preferiria Visual Studio Code, por que Apache Neatbeans no es visualmente tan atractivo

Kevin
Kevin
Calificación general
  • Sector: Tecnología y servicios de la información
  • Tamaño de la empresa: Trabajador autónomo
  • Software usado A diario durante Más de dos años
  • Fuente de la opinión

Calificación general

  • Relación calidad-precio
  • Facilidad de uso
  • Asistencia al cliente
  • Probabilidad de recomendación 8.0 /10

My go to IDE

Revisado el 31/7/2020

Since I began my journey, I have used many different IDEs but I always return to Netbeans. I love...

Since I began my journey, I have used many different IDEs but I always return to Netbeans. I love the simple straight forward design and the interface isn’t clutter. While it might not have all the bell and whistles of some of the newer IDEs it has always been consistent and stable for my use. I will say this that the IDE you use depends heavily on the first IDE you use when your learning to code. This can shape your entire experience. Even the operating system you start on can also affect your experience. I have been able to use Netbeans almost every whether it be Windows, Linux or OSX.

Puntos a favor

The bulk of the work I do involves Java programming and so, I have been using Netbeans for almost a decade. Its free and there are custom plugins adding new features. This means that I can use Netbeans to create my web applications as well. Netbeans is also the best IDE for creating software with GUIs. Testing, debugging and version control is simple and I can sync my projects with my Github account. I build most of my JavaFx applications using easy to integrate third party software. Wix and Inno Setup compatibility allows me to build my Jar applications into windows applications with installers. Netbeans also supports composer which allows me to access my PHP dependencies.

Desventajas

Netbeans is can be a bit slow. You will need a pc/laptop with a decent amount of resources to be able to speed up certain actions. Working with large GUI applications can cause slowdowns as the Netbeans can use quite a bit of Ram. Outside this there are no other downsides.

Václav
Calificación general
  • Sector: Tecnología y servicios de la información
  • Tamaño de la empresa: Trabajador autónomo
  • Software usado A diario durante Más de dos años
  • Fuente de la opinión

Calificación general

  • Relación calidad-precio
  • Facilidad de uso
  • Probabilidad de recomendación 10.0 /10

All you need IDE for web development

Revisado el 30/8/2021

For the fact that it's open source and therefore for free, the quality of it is extremely good! For...

For the fact that it's open source and therefore for free, the quality of it is extremely good! For my need of development in classical combo HTML + CSS + JavaScript on front-end and PHP + MySQL on back-end it's a perfect solution that has served me for years without any major problems.

Puntos a favor

It has support for all commonly used languages in web development. Everything needed is available from the beginning without the need to get any extra plugins. Automatic code compilations are available in settings of each project, including CSS preprocessors and use of JavaScript modules so no other tools are needed. It has support for variety of frameworks, as well as testing tools, and has also it's own history tracking in git style which saves automatic snapshots each time you save a file.

Desventajas

Since it's an open source software, it's not perfect and it sometimes randomly freezes or crashes. Also because of the same reason the development of new features and updates are not as often as with other commercial software. Therefore it's not very practical for development with newer, fast changing technologies.

Keith
Calificación general
  • Sector: Seguridad informática y de redes
  • Tamaño de la empresa: 1.001-5.000 empleados
  • Software usado A diario durante Más de dos años
  • Fuente de la opinión

Calificación general

  • Relación calidad-precio
  • Facilidad de uso
  • Asistencia al cliente
  • Probabilidad de recomendación 5.0 /10

Good for Java and some other mobile languages

Revisado el 7/11/2022

I would try it again and it was good for the java world and development

I would try it again and it was good for the java world and development

Puntos a favor

Great product that was fast at compiling and giving me answers to questions, great at picking out errors and very prompt and thorough about it.

Desventajas

Not that great with startup or switching environments or even switching jve, jvm

Achille
Calificación general
  • Sector: Software informático
  • Tamaño de la empresa: 2-10 empleados
  • Software usado A diario durante Más de dos años
  • Fuente de la opinión

Calificación general

  • Relación calidad-precio
  • Facilidad de uso
  • Asistencia al cliente
  • Probabilidad de recomendación 8.0 /10

The best to develop Java applications

Revisado el 7/6/2022

Some yeas ago we moved from Eclipse to NetBeans because we liked many functionalities and a stable...

Some yeas ago we moved from Eclipse to NetBeans because we liked many functionalities and a stable framework that this software offers.
It's a good choice, maybe the best, to develop a Java application. But when we write a web based application (eg. based on LAMP) or a mobile app, we switch to Visual Studio Code, a more complete, flexible and fast solution.

Puntos a favor

Fully features, good and proven UI, cross-platform. Good integrated tools and services: we like so much the database connector and the built-in UML modelling.

Desventajas

There are only two things we like least about this software:
1. if you need do write HTML/PHP/JavaScript code, you can find other solutions with more widgets, plugins, best auto-suggestion, ...
2. as it is developed on Java, you can get some hardware resources issues (especially RAM) by using this software intensively

Vinicius
Calificación general
  • Sector: Tecnología y servicios de la información
  • Tamaño de la empresa: 2-10 empleados
  • Software usado A diario durante Más de dos años
  • Fuente de la opinión

Calificación general

  • Relación calidad-precio
  • Facilidad de uso
  • Asistencia al cliente
  • Probabilidad de recomendación 10.0 /10

Review for Apache NetBeans

Revisado el 26/11/2022

I work daily with this IDE to develop applications in Java, C++ and Python. Apache NetBeans...

I work daily with this IDE to develop applications in Java, C++ and Python. Apache NetBeans provides agility, high performance, cost reduction and a great integration with DevOps resources.

Puntos a favor

Easy to install, manage and use. It has features and resources for numerous programming languages through plugins. It is the perfect environment for programming systems with the Java programming language.

Desventajas

I think the Apache NetBeans installation could be independent of the JDK, for example, natively developed for Windows, MacOS, and other operating systems.

Alternativas consideradas

IntelliJ IDEA

Razones para cambiar a Apache NetBeans

Ease of use and reduced costs for training employees to use this IDE. Apache NetBeans is a software with maturity in the market and well known by programmers.
Corine
Corine
Calificación general
  • Sector: Software informático
  • Tamaño de la empresa: Trabajador autónomo
  • Software usado A diario durante Más de un año
  • Fuente de la opinión

Calificación general

  • Relación calidad-precio
  • Facilidad de uso
  • Asistencia al cliente
  • Probabilidad de recomendación 8.0 /10

NetBeans is a Great IDE!

Revisado el 25/4/2019

Overall, I have had a fairly positive experience with Apache Netbeans. I use this software daily,...

Overall, I have had a fairly positive experience with Apache Netbeans. I use this software daily, and it has been very helpful and useful for my studies. My course requires Netbeans and includes tutorials for Netbeans, so that's how I really learned how to use it and be comfortable using it. I think that it definitely could be updated in terms of appearance, but overall it is a really great IDE.

Puntos a favor

What I like most about Netbeans is that it has a lot of features, such as automatically creating JAR and WAR files, which I've really needed for class. It is also really easy to use SQL and databases, JDBC databases, and webforms/Servlets. It is really endless what you can use NetBeans for. Also, it shows errors and clues to fix the errors within a user's code.

Desventajas

What I don't love about this software is that it looks like a really dated IDE. I wish that it looked a little more modern. It also took me a little while before I became comfortable to use it and learned how the features work. I would recommend reading about how to use Netbeans as you are starting out.

Thushara
Thushara
Calificación general
  • Sector: Software informático
  • Tamaño de la empresa: 5.001-10.000 empleados
  • Software usado A diario durante 6-12 meses
  • Fuente de la opinión

Calificación general

  • Facilidad de uso
  • Asistencia al cliente
  • Probabilidad de recomendación 8.0 /10

One of the best IDE to java development!

Revisado el 7/10/2019

Overall NetBeans is good IDE and it is very supportive.

Overall NetBeans is good IDE and it is very supportive.

Puntos a favor

NetBeans is free easy and efficient. It supports multiple languages. Available on multiple platform such as Linux, Mac, Windows. I do not have to install additional software or plugins to develop GUI since NetBeans comes with that ability. Has rich plugin library. It has real time debugging ability. NetBeans can suggest options and it perform selected options automatically for fix bugs.

Desventajas

It require lots of system resources. It takes too much time to compile and run heavy projects sometime becomes "not responding". It is better to add few new themes such as dark themes.

Frico
Frico
Calificación general
  • Sector: Tecnología y servicios de la información
  • Tamaño de la empresa: 1.001-5.000 empleados
  • Software usado A diario durante Más de un año
  • Fuente de la opinión

Calificación general

  • Facilidad de uso
  • Probabilidad de recomendación 7.0 /10

Apache NetBeans for Junior Programmer

Revisado el 15/1/2023

It's very good for beginner, but if you need an IDE for professional level. There are other better...

It's very good for beginner, but if you need an IDE for professional level. There are other better IDE for that.

Puntos a favor

The GUI is very good for beginner, with lots of starter plugins and features Netbeans is one the best IDE for junior programmer

Desventajas

Sometimes there will be a problem when you install the newest JDK and the Netbeans's version isn't fully support the newest JDK version. So sometimes I have to degrade the JDK version.

Esra
Esra
Calificación general
  • Sector: Tecnología y servicios de la información
  • Tamaño de la empresa: 51-200 empleados
  • Software usado A diario durante Más de dos años
  • Fuente de la opinión

Calificación general

  • Relación calidad-precio
  • Facilidad de uso
  • Asistencia al cliente
  • Probabilidad de recomendación 9.0 /10

A user friendly IDE for applications

Revisado el 17/4/2019

I enjoy developing applications using Netbeans. I used other IDEs but Netbeans is my favourite.

I enjoy developing applications using Netbeans. I used other IDEs but Netbeans is my favourite.

Puntos a favor

Apache Netbeans is very easy to use so it will be a good start for beginners. I still use it to develop web applications using PHP. It has Sass precompiler, Git and Svn support.

I think the IDE is very user friendly. You can navigate through the project easily. Search is comprehensive so you can find easily whatever you are looking for in the project.

Desventajas

It requires a high performance machine to run it. Otherwise It slows down the operating system to the point that nothing responds.

Miroslav
Miroslav
Calificación general
  • Sector: Tecnología y servicios de la información
  • Tamaño de la empresa: 2-10 empleados
  • Software usado Semanalmente durante Más de un año
  • Fuente de la opinión

Calificación general

  • Relación calidad-precio
  • Facilidad de uso
  • Asistencia al cliente
  • Probabilidad de recomendación 8.0 /10

Moving back to NetBeans

Revisado el 30/9/2020

I first came into contact with NetBeans at work when I started programming in Java. After a few...

I first came into contact with NetBeans at work when I started programming in Java. After a few hours, I felt like a professional user. Later in school we had to program in IDEA from IntelliJ and there I felt lost. Nothing seemed intuitive to me after the transition from NetBeans and that's why I decided to do more JAVA programming in NetBeans.

Puntos a favor

- easy of use (suitable for beginning programmers)
- intuitive
- adding libraries
- it's free!
- multiple languages support
- possibility of making graphic active windows

Desventajas

- slow start up
- slow loading of larger files
- old fashioned look
- consumes lot of memory
- occasionally freezing

Wassim
Calificación general
  • Sector: Redes informáticas
  • Tamaño de la empresa: 501-1.000 empleados
  • Software usado A diario durante Más de dos años
  • Fuente de la opinión

Calificación general

  • Relación calidad-precio
  • Facilidad de uso
  • Asistencia al cliente
  • Probabilidad de recomendación 9.0 /10

Apache NetBeans: A complete IDE for Series Java Programmers

Revisado el 14/6/2023

Excellent features that supported all my application development needs in Java.

Excellent features that supported all my application development needs in Java.

Puntos a favor

Apache Netbeans is time-tested and improving to support Java developers with a complete IDE platform for any 3-tier application development whether on the client-side, Application Server side or on the DBMS side. I've used Netbeans to develop end-to-end applications using the Java platform. It supported seamless integration with J2EE application servers and several database management systems using JDBC such as Oracle and MySQL.Other development platforms such as C++/PHP/Javascript/... are supported as well, but still Netbeans goes very well with Java development over other development platforms.

Desventajas

The GUI is not very modern but intuitive. The performance is not as efficient as other competing IDEs such as Visual Studio. But this is totally understandable as Netbeans is developed in Java and this would definitely make it relatively slower than natively-developed IDEs

Jeffrey
Calificación general
  • Sector: Administración educativa
  • Tamaño de la empresa: 1.001-5.000 empleados
  • Software usado A diario durante Más de dos años
  • Fuente de la opinión

Calificación general

  • Relación calidad-precio
  • Facilidad de uso
  • Asistencia al cliente
  • Probabilidad de recomendación 7.0 /10

Great Java IDE with Horrible Gradle Support

Revisado el 12/2/2022

I like the clean and reliable integration of the Java environment that Netbeans supplies. However,...

I like the clean and reliable integration of the Java environment that Netbeans supplies. However, I've been trying to use it with Gradle managed projects lately and it utterly fails at this. There's no documentation concerning gradle that is relevant to current versions. The features (such as renaming a class) is buggy and applies renaming wrong. If something goes wrong with the gradle wrapper/version there is no fixing it other than create a new project and copy source files over to it. The gradle project creation creates supper projects for multiple sub-apps but then doesn't supply any ability to create/delete/modify subapps. Basically, Apache touts that 12.6 supports gradle 7.3 but it doesn't do so in any meaningful way. If you don't need a modern build management system like gradle and can live with Ant then Netbeans is my favorite IDE. If you need Gradle look elsewhere until it becomes an actual goal of the project to support it well.

Puntos a favor

The features/plugins that are available are well integrated and reliable.

Desventajas

Gradle support is almost impossible to use unless you abandon the IDE and work with gradle from the command line.
Largely just Java focused. Other languages, especially for embedded devices, is often lacking or non-existent. Difficult for community to develop and extend additional features.

Usuario verificado
Calificación general
  • Sector: Juegos de ordenador
  • Tamaño de la empresa: 2-10 empleados
  • Software usado A diario durante Más de dos años
  • Fuente de la opinión

Calificación general

  • Relación calidad-precio
  • Facilidad de uso
  • Asistencia al cliente
  • Probabilidad de recomendación 9.0 /10

Apache NetBeans Review.

Revisado el 6/6/2022

Its easy to use and integrate with other software. Its also free for students and has amazing...

Its easy to use and integrate with other software. Its also free for students and has amazing prices for enterprises.

Puntos a favor

I like how easy it is to use and develop using this software. Specifically developing in Java on this IDE is amazing.

Desventajas

Honestly the only issue I have with this software are its high computational requirements, it requires a lot of machine power for it to run. Its designed for high end devices and thus is not good for businesses that run on low end devices.

Ghulam Ali
Calificación general
  • Sector: Tecnología y servicios de la información
  • Tamaño de la empresa: 501-1.000 empleados
  • Software usado A diario durante Más de un año
  • Fuente de la opinión

Calificación general

  • Facilidad de uso
  • Asistencia al cliente
  • Probabilidad de recomendación 6.0 /10

The only option out there for OG Java Developers

Revisado el 19/8/2022

Puntos a favor

When it comes to coding and java web development, NetBeans is incredibly organized. It functions on a variety of platforms, including Windows and Linux. The visual web pack functionality of NetBeans is the best feature. I always use its helpful features like debugging, code completion, support for multiple programming languages, integration, and plugins.

Desventajas

Netbeans slows down for no reason (sometimes) and if used for prolonged period, it stops and crashes suddenly