Heroku

PaaS basado en contenedores para crear, entregar, supervisar y escalar aplicaciones

Calificación general

4,6 /5
(253)
Relación calidad-precio
4,2/5
Funcionalidades
4,4/5
Facilidad de uso
4,4/5
Asistencia al cliente
4,2/5

96%
de los usuarios recomienda esta aplicación
Ordenar por

253 opiniones

Ramon
Calificación general
  • Sector: Software informático
  • Tamaño de la empresa: 11-50 empleados
  • Software usado A diario durante Prueba gratis
  • Fuente de la reseña

Calificación general

  • Relación calidad-precio
  • Facilidad de uso
  • Asistencia al cliente
  • Probabilidad de recomendación 10.0 /10

For all applications

Revisado el 5/8/2019

My API and database is in heroku, in free mode, and meets the requirements well. Fully integrated with git, after each commit + push the service is automatically restarted with updates.

Puntos a favor

It is highly scalable, starting with a free version and then scaling up as needed.
Deploying and Continuing Integration is very useful as well as being integrated with git, keeping your master up to date.

Desventajas

Sometimes I get confused about the real usefulness of each tab in web configurations, but it is something that is little used, does not disturb.

Alternativas consideradas

Amazon RDS

Software anterior

Amazon RDS

Razones para cambiar a Heroku

price, user-friendly interface, free mode of use, git integration already implemented
Suman
Calificación general
  • Sector: Tecnología y servicios de la información
  • Tamaño de la empresa: 11-50 empleados
  • Software usado A diario durante Más de dos años
  • Fuente de la reseña

Calificación general

  • Relación calidad-precio
  • Facilidad de uso
  • Asistencia al cliente
  • Probabilidad de recomendación 10.0 /10

Heroku is easiest option for deployment.

Revisado el 24/9/2020

I'd give 9.5 out of 10 for Heroku. This is the easiest deployment service I have ever seen. Add ons and dyno scaling makes is very good tool. The have nice documentation too in overall.

Puntos a favor

It is the easiest option for deployment I have ever seen. And the option for addon is plenty. The option for dyno scaling is easy. Also Review app feature from Heroku is one of the most underrated features for them. We user review the app feature for all pull requests and all QA reviews.

Desventajas

It is a bit expensive for a starter and low traffic web application. Most of the time debugging is pretty easy with Rollbar and Papertrail logs but those only works when the app already started. If the app cannot start after deployment it gives H10 error which is very generic and does not tell anything about the error.

Alternativas consideradas

AWS Config, OpenStack y DigitalOcean

Razones para cambiar a Heroku

Because of the Ease of deployment and review app feature.
Yashovardhan
Calificación general
  • Sector: Administración educativa
  • Tamaño de la empresa: 1.001-5.000 empleados
  • Software usado Semanalmente durante Más de un año
  • Fuente de la reseña

Calificación general

  • Relación calidad-precio
  • Facilidad de uso
  • Asistencia al cliente
  • Probabilidad de recomendación 9.0 /10

Best Place to run node.js for backend work

Revisado el 4/11/2022

Overall, my experience with Heroku has been good. They offer great service and are always improving their offerings. The documentation is excellent and the support is responsive. I haven't had any major issues with using Heroku. They make it easy to get my app up and running quickly and easily. The documentation is great and the support team is responsive and helpful.

Puntos a favor

First, it is very easy to use and set up. You can get your app up and running in just a few minutes. Second, it has great documentation and support. If you have any problems, you can usually find a solution in the Heroku docs or on the Heroku support site. And finally, Heroku is always adding new features and improving their platform. I also liked the ease of use and the concise documentation.

Desventajas

The least liked thing about Heroku is the way it charges for resources. For example, if you want to keep your app running continuously, you have to pay for a dyno (virtual machine) every month. This can add up quickly if you have multiple apps or need to run multiple dynos simultaneously.

Alternativas consideradas

Hostinger

Razones para cambiar a Heroku

It is specifically designed for node.js than other services
Nat
Calificación general
  • Sector: Banca
  • Tamaño de la empresa: 2-10 empleados
  • Software usado Otro durante Más de dos años
  • Fuente de la reseña

Calificación general

  • Relación calidad-precio
  • Facilidad de uso
  • Asistencia al cliente
  • Probabilidad de recomendación 0.0 /10

Go Somewhere Else!

Revisado el 24/8/2020

Heroku has refused to dialogue despite us giving them several chances over the half of the decade. So they've blown it. So time to say our official good byes.

Puntos a favor

Not really anything that stood out too much.

Desventajas

We have a long list but will give the short story. We are never coming back to this company again for multiple reasons which we addressed to them several times for the past 4-5 years. Employees completely blew us off, and if they even did answer on some rare occassion, they woud send out derogatory and antagonistic communications. This group refused to use phone, so the limited accessbility was only with email, when they would always pickle us back and forth to differing departments, not finding any solutions for us. Although we continued to warn them that if they do not improve their prices, features, and attitude and professionalism, they still ignored us. So a promise is a promise: they are never getting a single email from me ever again, although they still send me antagonistic emails to us, rather than simply helping us- you know, the ones paything THEM for their salaries. They are so lucky to have their jobs still? They don't even deserve to be in the workforce!
And to this day, they still insist on sending harassing emails to us despite the fact that we have now officially blocked them TWICE.
And they wonder why they don't get respect from us. Treat us like your toilets, Heroku had better believe they will have to suffer the consequences and then some. Trust and respect are earned, not given. Good bye and best of luck to you. Go somewhere else. This group is full of harassers! And that's unethical behavior on their part.

Dushyant
Calificación general
  • Sector: Tecnología y servicios de la información
  • Tamaño de la empresa: 11-50 empleados
  • Software usado A diario durante Más de dos años
  • Fuente de la reseña

Calificación general

  • Relación calidad-precio
  • Facilidad de uso
  • Asistencia al cliente
  • Probabilidad de recomendación 8.0 /10

Feature rich, easy to setup PaaS

Revisado el 1/9/2022

H is a great tool to deploy for small teams and people wishing to host small projects. I connect my Github repos to the platform and it automatically handles much of the build and setup process. It can do better in terms of diversifying its scope of services, rather than just sticking to server hosting

Puntos a favor

Heroku allows us to deploy simple full stack applications to the cloud, without us having to go through the complex AWS/GCP/Azure configurations. For pet projects and/or minor applications, it provides a great uptime, fast deployment, CI/CD, database deployment plugins, and good logging mechanisms, so that we developers can focus on the business logic without worrying about configuring our environment

Desventajas

I faced several issues while setting up simple applications, and the answers to fix them were more like hacks. Its CLI, while useful is prone to bugs and lacks documentation. It provides limited functionality compared to IaaS platforms like AWS.

Vincent
Calificación general
  • Sector: Tecnología y servicios de la información
  • Tamaño de la empresa: 2-10 empleados
  • Software usado Semanalmente durante Más de dos años
  • Fuente de la reseña

Calificación general

  • Relación calidad-precio
  • Facilidad de uso
  • Probabilidad de recomendación 6.0 /10

Free tiers are great to start off with for new developers / integrators.

Revisado el 12/5/2022

Puntos a favor

Heroku cli ,and ease of attaching resources to 'applications'.

Desventajas

gets costly with increased dyno units, and higher spec database (postgres).

Alternativas consideradas

Microsoft Azure, AWS CloudFormation y Google Cloud

Razones para elegir Heroku

trial and provision a PaaS solution.

Software anterior

PostgreSQL

Razones para cambiar a Heroku

Trial stage, and very easy to provision and setup a working application prototype with full CI/CD
Usuario verificado
Calificación general
  • Sector: Telecomunicaciones
  • Tamaño de la empresa: 2-10 empleados
  • Software usado A diario durante Más de dos años
  • Fuente de la reseña

Calificación general

  • Relación calidad-precio
  • Facilidad de uso
  • Asistencia al cliente
  • Probabilidad de recomendación 6.0 /10

always want to love Heroku, keep getting stuck on like

Revisado el 31/8/2021

Puntos a favor

Heroku is great for turn keying an app or DB during the early days

Desventajas

lack of console or the ability to just get a straight shell is always why we leave, project after project

Alternativas consideradas

DigitalOcean

Razones para cambiar a Heroku

we tend to use render.com and netlify as we scale and probably will cease using heroku as an MVP or random experiment provider in next year or so
Christian
Calificación general
  • Sector: Software informático
  • Tamaño de la empresa: Trabajador autónomo
  • Software usado Semanalmente durante Más de dos años
  • Fuente de la reseña

Calificación general

  • Relación calidad-precio
  • Facilidad de uso
  • Probabilidad de recomendación 9.0 /10

Great Platform as a Service Offering

Revisado el 18/6/2022

I use Heroku to deploy and host several web applications I’ve built for clients. Some are PHP & Laravel and some are Python & Django. I make use of the Postgres add on for all of them as well as the Cloudinary add on for a few.

Puntos a favor

Push to deploy or build out a full development lifecycle pipeline - Heroku provides all the features you need to make it all easy no matter your processes.

Desventajas

Teams requires paid tier applications and could be free to make collaboration a little easier. It would also be nice to see a GitLab integration added.

Alternativas consideradas

DigitalOcean

Razones para cambiar a Heroku

Free tier until I need things paid
Chris
Calificación general
  • Sector: Tecnología y servicios de la información
  • Tamaño de la empresa: 11-50 empleados
  • Software usado A diario durante Más de un año
  • Fuente de la reseña

Calificación general

  • Relación calidad-precio
  • Facilidad de uso
  • Probabilidad de recomendación 9.0 /10

Hard to beat platform for application deployment

Revisado el 2/11/2022

Overall, I love using Heroku and will keep using it as my preference for application deployment. The integration with Terraform and GitHub actions leave me more time to spend writing code.

Puntos a favor

Heroku's platform is very intuitive and easy to learn as a developer. The APIs available make it possible to automate lots of the CI/CD pipeline which cuts back on tedious tasks and lets developers have more time for developing. It's also possible to integrate with Terraform for easy and consistent setup between various applications.

Desventajas

The removal of the free tier is my least favorite aspect. Free tiers are great for proof of concepts and low mileage/hobby applications. It's a great way to get toes in the door, which leads to whole accounts being set up.

Melikşah
Calificación general
  • Sector: Software informático
  • Tamaño de la empresa: 2-10 empleados
  • Software usado Mensualmente durante Prueba gratis
  • Fuente de la reseña

Calificación general

  • Relación calidad-precio
  • Facilidad de uso
  • Asistencia al cliente
  • Probabilidad de recomendación 5.0 /10

Heroku Review

Revisado el 16/11/2022

Puntos a favor

I like the usage about deploying an application proccess. It was really helpful and making it simplier.

Desventajas

It was really hard to make a successfull deployment. It didnt have clear logs about deployment.

Thiago
Calificación general
  • Sector: Educación superior
  • Tamaño de la empresa: 51-200 empleados
  • Software usado A diario durante Más de dos años
  • Fuente de la reseña

Calificación general

  • Relación calidad-precio
  • Facilidad de uso
  • Asistencia al cliente
  • Probabilidad de recomendación 7.0 /10

Easy to scale PaaS in top of Amazon regions for your own or orgs git projects

Revisado el 5/5/2022

Heroku has a friendly UI and set it up very easily with git flow inside a corporation. The way it scales up/down its really intuitive and makes a team work without issues. However, sometimes, the PaaS lacks in display some different regions availability and have a higher cost for private spaces, so need some planning before implementing in your org to check if fits with your needs.

Puntos a favor

The way Heroku let you scale up clustered instances using the dynos all through an friendly UI its a really useful feature that makes effortless get your app up and running to handle huge amount of traffic. Also its really simple setup a Review App pipeline created automatically by a git hook which makes easy create versions of the app based in a PR Review or purposed change.

Desventajas

I think Heroku lacks in display different regions in the free tier and also private spaces. This limit your application for certain regions - if you're planning have a Data Residency and Region availability isn't recommended in my opinion. Also Heroku depends 100% with Amazon availability - once some regions of amazon or ec2 was off last year, the whole panel wasn't able to access. I would suggest have a backup plan with dynos in a different provider to have resilience in third-party providers.

Alternativas consideradas

Amazon EC2 y Google Cloud

Razones para cambiar a Heroku

I think Heroku still have an intuitive UI that makes easier for a team manage without go over so much documentation or troubleshooting if something happens. Also the company provide some support and buildpacks for legacy code, like frameworks such as Meteor and different Node versions.
David
Calificación general
  • Sector: Relaciones públicas y comunicaciones
  • Tamaño de la empresa: 51-200 empleados
  • Software usado A diario durante Más de dos años
  • Fuente de la reseña

Calificación general

  • Relación calidad-precio
  • Facilidad de uso
  • Asistencia al cliente
  • Probabilidad de recomendación 9.0 /10

Most straight forward git push deployment around

Revisado el 26/9/2020

Wonderful developer / DevOps experience. In ~6 years of using the service we've hardly seen any issues attributable to Heroku itself (rather to AWS which they buiding their service on top of).

Puntos a favor

Very simple to deploy and configure. Allows developers to manage deployments and serverside configuration without the need for a dedicated DevOps team.

Apart from just running applications their Heroku Postgres offering is rock-solid (and last I checked: the largest Postgres cloud deployment in the world).

Desventajas

- Support for 0 downtime deploys via "preboot" is too rudimentary. Preferably it would verify that the deployed code actually managed to boot before routing traffic. Also no built in support for canary deploys.
- Could use more dyno types (ie. instance types) to fit more use-cases. However introducing more options would also complicate the product and business model so understandable that it's kept simple.
- Somewhat overpriced.
- For security focused enterprise organisations the lack of fine grained security settings might be an issue.

Alternativas consideradas

AWS CloudFormation

Razones para elegir Heroku

Switching from bare metal to cloud was a pretty obvious thing to do back in 2014. We chose Heroku since they were the de-facto PaaS for Ruby on Rails applications and we wanted to allow developers to manage deployments without a dedicated DevOps team.

Razones para cambiar a Heroku

Ease of use. Good reputation. Perfect fit for Ruby on Rails applications.
Gerson
Calificación general
  • Sector: Software informático
  • Tamaño de la empresa: Trabajador autónomo
  • Software usado A diario durante Más de dos años
  • Fuente de la reseña

Calificación general

  • Facilidad de uso
  • Probabilidad de recomendación 8.0 /10

A Nice Hosting Option

Revisado el 18/5/2020

Heroku is a good option for those looking a potential hosting service for their apps, and not only are the base and free options well-fleshed out, and the pricing is not egregious. While one has to be sure to take the time to learn Heroku, not only their web app but also their CLI, that's expected, and they make sure they provide a lot of resources for newcomers. I continue to use Heroku and hope to test them in larger scale apps in the future,

Puntos a favor

Heroku is a good hosting option for one's own apps. Being able to support several different languages is also a big plus of not having to worry about moving different code bases and still being able to work with Heroku. Upon creation, adding a project to Heroku does take a bit of work but when it definitely gets going, it does feel good and pushing updates doesn't take long for them to get running with the Github integration, which is a massive QoL addition within Heroku. Within apps there a lot of options that one can work with, even with the free plan and give lots of information to be able to track how one's app performance along with being able to keep track of potential errors and faults. The Heroku CLI is also nice to work with and well developed, being able to manage directly from terminal is important. The different staging options are pretty going in being able to test one's own app before even releasing out to the public and having a lot of options in testing before release is a big plus. While learning, I do have to say that Heroku’s wiki is fleshed out and provides a lot of information for someone new to such software.

Desventajas

Navigating through their website could use improvement, and while I have gotten used to Heroku and generally have a good idea of where their content is, I do feel like in the beginning I was constantly wondering where some options where and felt like information could definitely be better displayed along with general navigation. I also which there was a way to change up the appearance of the desktop app.

Jorge
Calificación general
  • Sector: Software informático
  • Tamaño de la empresa: 2-10 empleados
  • Software usado A diario durante 6-12 meses
  • Fuente de la reseña

Calificación general

  • Relación calidad-precio
  • Facilidad de uso
  • Probabilidad de recomendación 10.0 /10

Heroku, take control on your server side app deployment!

Revisado el 13/2/2017

Heroku is a fast, easy, nice and very reliable place to host your server side apps, node.js and ruby on rails apps works like a charm. I use HEROKU to deploy my apps, it allows me to store logs, run commands on the server side, clone the entire app and create a new environment, add services to my apps such as Sendgrid, Postgres DB and many many other.

It also allows you to create pipelines and setup your environment variables in a very easy going manner over the web tools but also there is the CLI that allows you to do all the actions over the console.

The overal service experience is great, once you start working with HEROKU, git will be your best friend since it is the way to deploy your apps. It even provides you with many development environments for your app like Swift and any other that have some sort of package manager.

Last but not least you can manage your project collaborators and ownership over the web manager so you can create your app and add all the members on your development team in no time or you can create an app for your client and once its finished you can transfer the app ownership to your client.

This is by far one of the best services for apps development i'd found in years, it really reduces the development and deployment time, no setup for each app, just the joy of git push heroku master ..... Done

Puntos a favor

To get start with the services you just need to create the app in the web manager app, witch makes it super Easy to use, it is super FAST to deploy and run the apps.

It is highly scalable, you can start with a free dyno and scale it over the paid plans according to your needs with makes it ver cost efficient.

It might replace your git repository but also it is very easy to create several environments for your app in no time with exact clones of it even with environmental variables

Desventajas

The only one that i can mention right now is that i haven't found a really nice solution for push notifications (i'd like to find something easy going like send grid )

Pawan
Calificación general
  • Sector: Software informático
  • Tamaño de la empresa: Trabajador autónomo
  • Software usado Semanalmente durante Más de dos años
  • Fuente de la reseña

Calificación general

  • Relación calidad-precio
  • Facilidad de uso
  • Asistencia al cliente
  • Probabilidad de recomendación 9.0 /10

Best web hosting platform

Revisado el 1/3/2021

Overall, the experience with Heroku has been pretty good. I can deploy my projects on the go and view them live. I have been using it for my personal projects as it has less maintenance to do by myself and focus more on development and it saves my time.

Puntos a favor

I have been using it for 4 years to showcase my personal projects to others on GitHub. It's a great platform to deploy my projects and it supports all types of programming languages. I like the features of deployment of my GitHub repositories and also set up the webhook for automatic redeployment on changes on my GitHub repositories. It's easy to use and doesn't need to deal with a lot of infrastructures as it's a PaaS. Also, the startup can use this platform and focus more on development rather than setting up own servers and configuring it. Also i love feature of scaling the web apps/services starightforword, i just need to specify the number of dynos to scale it. It offers both the powerful dashboard and CLI so i can perform something on its dashboard or by using its CLI. I love when i can deploy a web app in no time so its fast and simple to deploy. It also provides free addons such as PostgreSQL, redis etc which i can use in my web apps.

Desventajas

Heroku Dynos are not cheap compared with the EC2 instances and the price may increase when we need scaling on the projects. The free tier can only create limited apps and also only a dyno is available with limited hours. Not all add-ons are available free of cost.

Usuario verificado
Calificación general
  • Sector: Software informático
  • Tamaño de la empresa: 1.001-5.000 empleados
  • Software usado A diario durante Más de dos años
  • Fuente de la reseña

Calificación general

  • Facilidad de uso
  • Probabilidad de recomendación 9.0 /10

Like it so far!

Revisado el 7/11/2018

I love working withHheroku, but I don't have to pay for it cause the company I work for pays for it. If I was working on a side project that didn't have a very big tech budget I would probably choose something else. If the company can afford it though Heroku would be my first pick

Puntos a favor

- Being able to roll back my app is HUGE!
- Easy to deploy from the command line (although my work has it setup so when I commit to master in github it deploys the latest version)
- Has a nice CLI to get info, restart the app, and such...
- Has add ons which easily integrates with the app.
- Easy to setup different environments of the same app.
- Easily see how the app is doing.

Desventajas

Heroku interface is really nice to work with, but some of the add-ons don't have the best interface. I know the code for those add-ons are not made by Heroku, but I wish Heroku had higher standards for their add-ons. There are some super useful add-ons that just have little things about them that are weird or confusing. Plus most of the add-ons I have used don't have a very pretty interface. If Heroku put a little pressure on them to clean up their user experience that would be helpful.

Balveer
Calificación general
  • Sector: Administración educativa
  • Tamaño de la empresa: 11-50 empleados
  • Software usado A diario durante Más de dos años
  • Fuente de la reseña

Calificación general

  • Facilidad de uso
  • Probabilidad de recomendación 10.0 /10

Best & Friendly to use for begginers want to host Web Applications

Revisado el 30/4/2022

Puntos a favor

I love the user friendlyness of this software, very easy to connect with github & deploy the application. View logs made it easy to debug the errors, where as in other cloud deployment platform need more technical knowledge.

Desventajas

Some time I found it little difficult to deploy some of my bigger projects which include databases & some other operations. And one more thing that I least like is to auto shutdown/restart my application, so that I can save my monthly dyno for letter use.

Alternativas consideradas

Microsoft Azure

Razones para cambiar a Heroku

Easy of use.
Olivier JM
Calificación general
  • Sector: Software informático
  • Tamaño de la empresa: 11-50 empleados
  • Software usado Semanalmente durante Más de dos años
  • Fuente de la reseña

Calificación general

  • Relación calidad-precio
  • Facilidad de uso
  • Asistencia al cliente
  • Probabilidad de recomendación 10.0 /10

Deploy your code with less hustle

Revisado el 7/5/2021

Deploying without having to hire an extra person for DevOps, Just do a git push and your app is deployed this helps businesses to deliver new features to users faster with less resources.

Puntos a favor

Heroku makes it easy to deploy applications, and you can do it in many ways. either using their cli or syncing with the repo whether on Github or Gitlab.
Another cool feature of Heroku is the ability to add any addons with a simple click, beyond this their documentation is well written and they have a free version that works well for small apps, another cool feature is the metrics and analytics on the traffic your site is getting.

Desventajas

There is no easy way of switching account, let's say you have a person account and a work account, also some errors are cryptic sometimes which makes it hard to debug what went wrong.

Alternativas consideradas

DigitalOcean

Razones para cambiar a Heroku

It was cheaper and easier to setup.
Usuario verificado
Calificación general
  • Software usado A diario durante Más de dos años
  • Fuente de la reseña

Calificación general

  • Relación calidad-precio
  • Facilidad de uso
  • Asistencia al cliente
  • Probabilidad de recomendación 10.0 /10

Heroku is a powerful PaaS with unmatched support

Revisado el 2/5/2018

Heroku has allowed us to focus on our product and outsource the majority of our dev ops workload, which has been highly effective at our (small) size.

Puntos a favor

We've been using Heroku since our product launch for much of our backend infrastructure, and we remain absolutely smitten with the fantastic product and support we've gotten. Heroku strikes a great balance between the responsibilities of running everything on bare metal yourself and a more managed infrastructure, and we've been very happy with the trade-offs here. To top it off, their support is phenomenal, and, in the case of highly technical issues, consistently escalate support queries to the right technical person internally.

Desventajas

Heroku can definitely be pricier than running your own show directly on your own servers, or even in a virtualized environment like AWS that's definitely one critique we've seen from colleagues, however in our case that cost is more than justified for what we get in return for it.

Bryan
Calificación general
  • Sector: Diseño
  • Software usado A diario durante Más de dos años
  • Fuente de la reseña

Calificación general

  • Relación calidad-precio
  • Facilidad de uso
  • Asistencia al cliente
  • Probabilidad de recomendación 10.0 /10

The most elegant Platform as a Service

Revisado el 7/3/2018

Great for someone starting out and deploying their first webapp, and great as a service overall. I cannot immediately recommend it to larger organizations though without looking deeper into the potential cost first.

Puntos a favor

Heroku is really easy and out of your way as a developer. Setup and deployment is fast, and integrating add-ons is a breeze. I enjoy using Heroku more than any other similar platform as a service. If it were slightly cheaper, we would always use it.

Desventajas

Unfortunately we do not use Heroku for every project because it does have a high cost. While it is my favorite to use, sometimes it feels like the smarter decision to give up a little bit of the elegant design in exchange for a significant savings in cost. The introduction of Hobby dynos awhile back made Heroku a great starting point for fresh apps, but depending on how many users we plan on having, sometimes the cost of staying on Heroku will quickly eclipse other platform as a service options which while less elegant, still get the job done.

Ryan
Calificación general
  • Sector: Educación superior
  • Tamaño de la empresa: 201-500 empleados
  • Software usado A diario durante Más de dos años
  • Fuente de la reseña

Calificación general

  • Relación calidad-precio
  • Facilidad de uso
  • Probabilidad de recomendación 10.0 /10

Great Platform as a Service Host

Revisado el 13/4/2019

Puntos a favor

Heroku is my go-to when I need to deploy any application that's not just a static website. The pricing is very easy to understand, they have a great free tier, and the add-on system makes it easy to take on the services that I need to make things work the way I want. I really appreciate the recent addition of support for Docker containers as well. It makes things easier to use and deploy when I've got a containerized application.

I also appreciate how easy it is to transfer an application between my personal account and a work account. That means I can easily experiment with something in the free tier, then transfer it to the work account for billing purposes once something is up and running.

Desventajas

I really wish there was built-in support for docker-compose. I use that to manage my applications, but when I deploy I need to switch over to using the add-ons. Not a dealbreaker, but a bit annoying.

Isak
Calificación general
  • Sector: Software informático
  • Tamaño de la empresa: 2-10 empleados
  • Software usado A diario durante Más de dos años
  • Fuente de la reseña

Calificación general

  • Relación calidad-precio
  • Facilidad de uso
  • Asistencia al cliente
  • Probabilidad de recomendación 6.0 /10

Simple and affordable platform as a service

Revisado el 9/9/2022

Heroku allows us to focus on developing actual applications without the need to worry about complex server configuration and networking.

Puntos a favor

Ease of setting up new applications and provisioning add-ons. Great user interface for easily managing applications.

Desventajas

Limitations in application setup makes it unsuitable for large multi-service systems. HTTP requests are limited due to a enforced timeout of 30s.

Matthew
Calificación general
  • Sector: Software informático
  • Tamaño de la empresa: 51-200 empleados
  • Software usado A diario durante Más de dos años
  • Fuente de la reseña

Calificación general

  • Relación calidad-precio
  • Facilidad de uso
  • Probabilidad de recomendación 10.0 /10

Perfect for scaling your startup business

Revisado el 9/5/2022

Heroku was the best choice of platform for scaling our very small startup or quickly testing a proof of concept without paying any money for a hobbyist box.

Puntos a favor

This system works VERY well with Node js based applications and allows for quick scaling of the services.

Desventajas

With the simplistic management of your systems comes less functionality like other platforms like AWS and Azure

Alternativas consideradas

Amazon EC2

Razones para cambiar a Heroku

price!
Gonzalo
Calificación general
  • Sector: Tecnología y servicios de la información
  • Tamaño de la empresa: 2-10 empleados
  • Software usado Mensualmente durante Más de un año
  • Fuente de la reseña

Calificación general

  • Relación calidad-precio
  • Facilidad de uso
  • Probabilidad de recomendación 8.0 /10

Great Paas making deployment a breeze

Revisado el 17/7/2019

An easy way to deploy and get your app out there.

Puntos a favor

When I need to get a product out there in an MVP-like case I go for Heroku, a few clicks and you are ready to go. Heroku UI is beautifully crafted and they support many languages through their buildpacks, making almost any app compatible.

Their CLI and integration with Github makes deployment a breeze, I love to deploy by simply doing a git push. Their CLI is easy to use and the documentation is clear enough for most cases. Thanks to Heroku I was able to deploy a few web apps easily, their pipelines and integration make them ideal for small-scale projects and prototypes removing a great deal of low-level and hosting issues. Most of the heavy lifting is done for you.

Is amazing that the downtime is non-existent, the old dyno keeps serving until the new one is ready, then they're switched and the user doesn't experience downtime.

For small-scale apps and prototypes, Heroku is super affordable, even I hosted many of my apps in free plans.

Desventajas

I found it difficult to deploy apps client-based, for instance, I made an Angular app but since there's no buildpack for a fully static app I had to wrap on the app on PHP in order to be deployed.

Prices can go up quickly if your app starts using more resources, in many cases, it would be wiser to migrate to a different platform once the things start to escalate.

As Heroku does it really easy to set up the application for you it's often hard to tweak or change advanced features, you don't really have full server control. Also, I would like to see more integrations with other .git providers like Bitbucket and Gitlab.

Jose F.
Calificación general
  • Sector: Internet
  • Tamaño de la empresa: 51-200 empleados
  • Software usado A diario durante Más de dos años
  • Fuente de la reseña

Calificación general

  • Relación calidad-precio
  • Facilidad de uso
  • Asistencia al cliente
  • Probabilidad de recomendación 10.0 /10

Ideal companion of a Rails developer

Revisado el 18/4/2019

It's a joy to work with with a simple workflow and not needing to rely on a dedicated devops team to maintain a server infrastructure can make features flow faster to production instances and thus happier customers.

Puntos a favor

One of the best features introduced by Heroku to me, was the ability to deploy with a 'git push'. Also, it's very constrained, but that's for a good reason: it helps me develop an 'optimize-first' mentality where I don't just push any code to it, but rather force myself to implement an optimal solution. When deployed to Heroku, I know that it will scale well and that when it doesn't then I surely need to take a look at how to do my code better.

Desventajas

It can get very expensive very quickly, especially when inexperienced developers start adding add-ons, that may not be required.