GitLab

Gestión completa del ciclo de vida de DevOps

Calificación general

4,6 /5
(801)
Relación calidad-precio
4,5/5
Funcionalidades
4,6/5
Facilidad de uso
4,4/5
Asistencia al cliente
4,2/5

96%
de los usuarios recomienda esta aplicación
Ordenar por

801 opiniones

Usuario verificado
Calificación general
  • Sector: Ingeniería industrial o mecánica
  • Tamaño de la empresa: 201-500 empleados
  • Software usado A diario durante Más de dos años
  • Fuente de la reseña

Calificación general

  • Facilidad de uso
  • Probabilidad de recomendación 8.0 /10

Gestion de proyectos y codigo

Revisado el 22/11/2022

Puntos a favor

Muy facil de organizar, permite subgrupos

Desventajas

Version en continuo cambio, equipos limitados a 5 personas

Jander
Calificación general
  • Sector: Educación superior
  • Tamaño de la empresa: 5.001-10.000 empleados
  • Software usado Semanalmente durante Más de dos años
  • Fuente de la reseña

Calificación general

  • Relación calidad-precio
  • Facilidad de uso
  • Asistencia al cliente
  • Probabilidad de recomendación 9.0 /10

It's more than a code version software

Revisado el 13/10/2022

We use a lot of GitLab features daily in our software development department.
CI/CD features help us a lot.
I recommend!

Puntos a favor

Code versioning
Authentication
Continuous integration features
Continuous delivery features

Desventajas

I just can see some menu options after a click.

Alternativas consideradas

GitHub

Razones para elegir GitLab

For Git migration.

Software anterior

Apache Subversion

Razones para cambiar a GitLab

Self local instance.
Yurie Katri
Calificación general
  • Sector: Telecomunicaciones
  • Tamaño de la empresa: 10.000+ empleados
  • Software usado A diario durante Más de un año
  • Fuente de la reseña

Calificación general

  • Relación calidad-precio
  • Facilidad de uso
  • Asistencia al cliente
  • Probabilidad de recomendación 9.0 /10

A perfect place for program management

Revisado el 1/10/2022

Safe to use as SaaS. Easy to build even on-premises, but the SaaS version can be used with peace of mind thanks to strong security measures. Obtaining ISO/IEC 27001: 2013 certification, can be used with greater peace of mind, making it easier to approve the internal introduction request. If you are confident in the security, you can operate free of charge by creating a local server. When creating the request form to send to the internal IT department when submitting the SaaS version, there were some unclear points about security management in GitLab, but GitLab support took the trouble to conduct a remote meeting and was able to resolve all doubts.

Puntos a favor

The source code can be managed anywhere as long as you are connected to the Internet. The editor also supports Once editing is finished, you can manage versions by connecting to the Internet and clicking, so you do not need to be connected to the Internet all the time. The source code editing software also supports this, so you can manage it with GUI button operation.

Desventajas

There is issue management, but there is no task management feature. Therefore, we are forced to handle GitLab + Redmine. If you have a task management feature, you can consolidate with this, and work efficiency will increase.

Ville
Calificación general
  • Sector: Logística y cadena de suministro
  • Tamaño de la empresa: 201-500 empleados
  • Software usado A diario durante Más de un año
  • Fuente de la reseña

Calificación general

  • Relación calidad-precio
  • Facilidad de uso
  • Asistencia al cliente
  • Probabilidad de recomendación 7.0 /10

Good platform for tracking application issues and project development

Revisado el 3/11/2022

My overall experience has been good. GitHub has created an efficient tool to report and track technical issues. Through this tool, tech teams and other teams in a business can work together to solve the technical problems.

Puntos a favor

Gitlab is an excellent tool for creating tickets regarding issues with an application or platform. It allows easy tracking of the progress of the ticket and it keeps the whole team on track with the situation.

Desventajas

The software is not the most user-friendly. Creating and tracking tickets on the software is time taking. The flow of the software could be a little smoother and more straightforward.

Andy
Calificación general
  • Sector: Telecomunicaciones
  • Tamaño de la empresa: 10.000+ empleados
  • Software usado Semanalmente durante Más de un año
  • Fuente de la reseña

Calificación general

  • Relación calidad-precio
  • Facilidad de uso
  • Asistencia al cliente
  • Probabilidad de recomendación 9.0 /10

The first step to using Git on your computer is from this tool

Revisado el 24/8/2022

I think it's good that you can use it in basically the same way as GitHub, and that you can manage it by making use of your existing knowledge. Also, I think it's nice that GitLab has unique features that are easier to use, such as a feature that changes the display of the file icon for each file extension.

Puntos a favor

Using Git as a configuration management tool is already common sense (essential), but I think this software is the most used for remote (distributed) development. There are many cases where you install Git on each person's terminal and operate the commands, but if it is team development and you can't use an "external (public Internet) repository", it is better to set up and operate a Git repository with GitLab I think it will be the safest and standard way to use Git.

Desventajas

I guess there is no choice but to get used to it, but I would like to see more visual changes and expressions (messages) when conflicts occur that are easier to understand for beginners. After all, I'd like to see them develop an interface that makes it easier to understand the concept of Git configuration in the first place.

Alternativas consideradas

GitHub

Razones para elegir GitLab

With the end of MS-VSS support and the trend of the times, it was necessary to use Git for configuration management, and I was looking for a Git configuration management tool that could be used by groups (and remotely) instead of individuals, so we decided to implement GitLab.

Software anterior

Bitbucket

Razones para cambiar a GitLab

I think it is the first candidate for managing the configuration of development assets in internal development (because the use of Git itself is a global standard). There was a feature that changed the display of the file icon for each file extension, and it had the advantage that it was possible to reduce the file selection error. Also, unlike GitHub, it has not been acquired by Microsoft, so I think it is an advantage that it can be used with confidence in terms of security.
Usuario verificado
Calificación general
  • Sector: Servicios financieros
  • Tamaño de la empresa: 10.000+ empleados
  • Software usado A diario durante Más de dos años
  • Fuente de la reseña

Calificación general

  • Relación calidad-precio
  • Facilidad de uso
  • Asistencia al cliente
  • Probabilidad de recomendación 10.0 /10

Developer friendly CICD

Revisado el 16/10/2022

Gitlab, it is the best CICD and Source control, I ever used. I feel it's even better than GitHub.
It makes our lives easier and convenient.

Puntos a favor

Gitlab offers excellent user friendly interface and has literally no learning curve. I love how its script is well organised and easy to develop. It supports docker for each stage, which creates us a stable environment for the builds and tests.

Desventajas

I cannot think of cons in Gitlab. Only thing is that the pipeline is just developer friendly, we could really use a interface to design the pipeline for non-programmers or new comers.

Usuario verificado
Calificación general
  • Sector: Administración educativa
  • Tamaño de la empresa: Trabajador autónomo
  • Software usado A diario durante Más de un año
  • Fuente de la reseña

Calificación general

  • Facilidad de uso
  • Probabilidad de recomendación 10.0 /10

Best On-premises git client

Revisado el 5/10/2022

Puntos a favor

The fact that I can deploy Gitlab locally and start collaborating with my teammates on version control and source code management.

Desventajas

sometime the application becomes bit laggy and crashes

Alternativas consideradas

GitHub

Software anterior

GitHub
Usuario verificado
Calificación general
  • Sector: Tecnología y servicios de la información
  • Tamaño de la empresa: 201-500 empleados
  • Software usado A diario durante 6-12 meses
  • Fuente de la reseña

Calificación general

  • Relación calidad-precio
  • Facilidad de uso
  • Asistencia al cliente
  • Probabilidad de recomendación 7.0 /10

Gitlab is a good source control tools for developers

Revisado el 11/11/2022

I have been using Gitlab daily for our organization-only version control platform. I can easily review my code and progress and track the changes I made to the code like commits and merges.

Puntos a favor

It is really easy to view and review the changes you made to the code base. It also has standard CI/CD for continuous integration. I can also view all the logs of the whole project. And it is Open Source.

Desventajas

It has a lot of features and functionalities so I find it hard to learn to use them efficiently. The UI is also somewhat complex to navigate.

Usuario verificado
Calificación general
  • Sector: Tecnología y servicios de la información
  • Tamaño de la empresa: 201-500 empleados
  • Software usado A diario durante Más de un año
  • Fuente de la reseña

Calificación general

  • Facilidad de uso
  • Probabilidad de recomendación 10.0 /10

Recommended Version Control System for Test Automation!

Revisado el 19/10/2022

- If you are working in a test automation team and you are looking for a good starter tool for source code versioning, then GitLab is a great option- GitLab is beginner friendly yet covers the major and core functionality of Git- Components are pretty straightforward and the software will surely guide you while using it

Puntos a favor

- The user experience is something I really commend about this tool. The workflow is not really confusing yet you are sure that you are doing the legit Git commands- The UI is not intimidating. Even if you are not a developer, you can assure that the colors and the components are easy to follow and the app will guide you into using it- I like the fact that it can be integrated to the test management tools you are using as well, such as Atlassian tools

Desventajas

- Nothing much. Personally, I see myself using this tool for a long time

Usuario verificado
Calificación general
  • Sector: Software informático
  • Tamaño de la empresa: 10.000+ empleados
  • Software usado A diario durante Más de dos años
  • Fuente de la reseña

Calificación general

  • Facilidad de uso
  • Probabilidad de recomendación 10.0 /10

Develop, build, Deploy using GitLab

Revisado el 14/10/2022

Puntos a favor

We are using Gitlab for hosting repositories for our project. Testing (SAST) is super easy and integration of static code analysis is also really easy. We have also connected the repos with CI pipelines which is a really added advantage and at lesser cost that Azure Repos

Desventajas

I really like this software, Was not able to find any negative points as such.

Ashley Mathew
Calificación general
  • Sector: Tecnología y servicios de la información
  • Tamaño de la empresa: 201-500 empleados
  • Software usado Semanalmente durante Más de un año
  • Fuente de la reseña

Calificación general

  • Facilidad de uso
  • Probabilidad de recomendación 9.0 /10

Easy Source Code Management

Revisado el 15/10/2022

Ever since our company adopted DevOps practices, Gitlab was part and parcel of our team. Deployment of the latest jar file (we build applications on Java), and a roll back of the same in case of an issue has become hassle free. Without a solution like this, we always had to struggle with a roll back; the developers along with the release manager always had a moment of confusion on the roll back. Gitlab absolutely avoided this chaos and streamlined the process.
Additionally, I know that there are many other features also in Gitlab that is very useful for a development team.

Puntos a favor

It can automatically (with commands) deploy my updated my jar files on the configured server and restart the server. And in case something goes wrong, roll back is also easy. And it does the same for any on premise or cloud server environment.

Desventajas

I cant think of any drawback; in fact I was asking my team while writing this, and nobody had a negative comment.

Piotr
Calificación general
  • Sector: Software informático
  • Tamaño de la empresa: 51-200 empleados
  • Software usado A diario durante Más de un año
  • Fuente de la reseña

Calificación general

  • Relación calidad-precio
  • Facilidad de uso
  • Asistencia al cliente
  • Probabilidad de recomendación 9.0 /10

Best git management tool on the market

Revisado el 24/8/2022

I was using GitLab for a year and a half and I have to admit that it was the best git management tool I ever used. Everything that is needed by the user is already built-in. CI/CD is handled brilliantly and can be quickly set up without a lot of training before. The whole app is intuitive and easy to use (especially if a user has some experience with similar apps). Documentation is big and contains not only facts but also examples, which allows saving a lot of time during debugging or introducing new functionalities. GitLab is well known around the internet, so community support is also good. If a user has some problem, it is probably resolved inside documentation or in one of the web forums. The flexibility of GitLab is huge. It can be easily adjusted to a company's needs without any problems. Processes may be set up differently in various projects and integration between them is almost seamless.
On the other hand, the price per user is quite high, especially on better plans, so GitLab can quickly become expensive in bigger companies. The second disadvantage is that some less-known tools cannot be integrated with the app. However, the list is being extended and devs are listening to a community so the more some app integration is needed, the more likely it is.
In my opinion, GitLab is the best git management tool I ever used - particularly because of CI/CD. If you can afford the price, it is worth it!

Puntos a favor

A huge number of features.
Intuitive and easy to use.
Extensive documentation and good customer service.
Flexibility of customization.

Desventajas

It can become expensive, particularly if the company has many users.
Some less-known external tools cannot be integrated.

Pius
Calificación general
  • Sector: Internet
  • Tamaño de la empresa: 2-10 empleados
  • Software usado A diario durante Más de dos años
  • Fuente de la reseña

Calificación general

  • Relación calidad-precio
  • Facilidad de uso
  • Asistencia al cliente
  • Probabilidad de recomendación 8.0 /10

Gitlab

Revisado el 29/5/2022

Satisfactory! Started out on the free plan, and as the project grew and I needed more space and developers on it we upgraded and even got more access to more tools to better streamline our DevOps processes and overall project development.

Puntos a favor

Gitlab offers you a secure space to store and manage your git repositories, for personal use and or for your organization's development team. You can easily assign tasks to team members, and track and follow up on them with clearly laid out and categorized Kanban boards.

Desventajas

Gitlab's UI and UX are quite overwhelming for a first-time user. If you are new to Gitlab and you haven't used a similar platform like Github or Bitbucket before, you will definitely need a little training to fully utilize your Gitlab space. Make sure to get through the entire onboarding tutorial to avoid feeling lost because it's all going to seem very clunky and difficult to find your way at the beginning.

Alternativas consideradas

GitHub

Razones para elegir GitLab

We did not entirely shift. We work with both Gitlab and Github for different projects within the organization.

Software anterior

GitHub

Razones para cambiar a GitLab

We were already working with Github and found that Gitlab was a powerful solution we could add to our stack. We use GitLab for specific projects that are more timebound and we need to move fast on.
Arzu
Calificación general
  • Sector: Software informático
  • Tamaño de la empresa: 11-50 empleados
  • Software usado A diario durante Más de dos años
  • Fuente de la reseña

Calificación general

  • Relación calidad-precio
  • Facilidad de uso
  • Asistencia al cliente
  • Probabilidad de recomendación 9.0 /10

Easy to use, comprehensive, open-source tool for project management

Revisado el 23/4/2022

We have set up and customized GitLab on our own servers in order to manage a project where digital marketing, software, devops, human resources and many teams work together. This really relieved us of a great burden. Everyone's own project management area on GitLab was clear, besides, the issues and projects that they needed to work on were also very clear. We can follow many processes such as product development, project management, task tracking in a sustainable way. It also serves as a great archive for people who join the team later.

Puntos a favor

GitLab is an easy to use and versatile project management tool. As a team, we use it not only for software development projects, but also for the follow-up of our other projects. It is really great that it is customizable, you can simplify your interface for your teammates who cannot use complex applications. This offers you a more user-friendly product.

Desventajas

It's a little harder for people other than engineers to adapt. You shouldn't expect traditional drag-and-drop kanban boards. It's a bit of a technical product. But if we consider that the intended use of the product, this is really normal, not a big minus.

Alternativas consideradas

Jira

Software anterior

GitHub
Marc
Calificación general
  • Sector: Internet
  • Tamaño de la empresa: 201-500 empleados
  • Software usado A diario durante Más de dos años
  • Fuente de la reseña

Calificación general

  • Relación calidad-precio
  • Facilidad de uso
  • Asistencia al cliente
  • Probabilidad de recomendación 10.0 /10

Customizable management system for any project

Revisado el 24/2/2022

GitLab is overall a better alternative to GitHub and clearly suitable for experts who already have experience in versioning processes. Especially for academic processes, in which small steps are important, versioning through GitLab is easy to integrate into technical work processes. Likewise the adaptability to own needs is extremely simple by the CI. Particularly when it comes to the area of machine learning, for example, the registry or the CI enables the integration and management of trained models or, through the integration of GPU servers, the training of these without having to use a new platform such as Google Colab.

Puntos a favor

GitLab is easy to use and offers a versatile range of applications. GitLab can be used not only for software development projects. Especially in the academic sector, institutions can use GitLab to persist the respective work steps and research data, data in general, and workflows. Version control is particularly helpful in this regard, as it allows each step of a work to be traced, and errors to be undone directly without having to do a great deal of extra work.
In addition, GitLab can be customized and the respective instances can be easily transferred to one's own infrastructure. The development team is also always open to new ideas and actually incorporates them.

GitLab is therefore not only suitable for software development, but for any form of project in which it is a matter of the step-by-step tracking of work steps.

Desventajas

GitLab can be quite overwhelming. It is particularly difficult for non-experts from the non-software sector to get to know the processes of GitLab, as GitLab is less focused on gamification aspects compared to GitHub. Therefore, a high level of preparatory work and expertise is required in GitLab. Likewise, GitLab is often very technical, which is understandable, but it would be quite conceivable that especially in the area of testing and CI, modular principles, like for websites, would be conceivable and desirable.

Alternativas consideradas

GitHub y Google Drive

Razones para cambiar a GitLab

Compared to GitHub, GitLab is much more customizable and suitable for experts. Compared to Google Drive, the versioning principle is convincing. Google Drive as a pure data storage is insufficient for larger, more traceable projects.
Morgan
Calificación general
  • Sector: Salud, bienestar y deporte
  • Tamaño de la empresa: Trabajador autónomo
  • Software usado A diario durante Más de dos años
  • Fuente de la reseña

Calificación general

  • Relación calidad-precio
  • Facilidad de uso
  • Probabilidad de recomendación 10.0 /10

A great hosted Git SCM solution

Revisado el 18/2/2022

We were trying to have a central hosted repository SCM system. For issue management we normally use Linear, although for smaller projects we keep track of issues using the integrated issue manager. The product integrates seamlessly in the development workflow, implementing and enforcing best industry practices onto all the contributors of the project, and allows for quick deployments to production and testing with its integrated CI/CD system.

Puntos a favor

GitLab is a great integrated SCM, Issue Management and CI/CD solution which is a pleasure to work with. The tools feel very nicely integrated and cooperate very well. It embodies by default the best practices for code management and is developed by a company which has open source and transparency at its heart, thus reassuring that the product can be trusted, either as a SaaS solution or as a self-hosted solution.

Desventajas

The SaaS version of the problem has over the year suffered some issues; however these have been decreasing over time and the company has made a hosted experience on par of those of other SaaS solutions. The resource consumption of the product is not to be taken lightly; however for small teams it has a relatively inexpensive monthly server cost.

Matthew
Calificación general
  • Sector: Software informático
  • Tamaño de la empresa: 51-200 empleados
  • Software usado A diario durante Más de dos años
  • Fuente de la reseña

Calificación general

  • Relación calidad-precio
  • Facilidad de uso
  • Probabilidad de recomendación 10.0 /10

Powerful toolset that are available on premise!

Revisado el 16/9/2021

I am happy with the toolset - very grateful to the gitlab community for the work done on this. It allows small startup companies to create their own instance and manage gitlab CI deployment pipelines.

Puntos a favor

I am not constrained at all by a company like GitHub or Bitbucket. It allows my team to have faith that what we are working on - remains in house. For piece of mind - without using git native.

Desventajas

Difficult to setup for the uninitiated linux administrator. Administration and upgrades are also difficult to do.

Alternativas consideradas

GitHub

Razones para elegir GitLab

I needed to ensure that our repositories are private and held on premise.

Software anterior

GitHub y Bitbucket

Razones para cambiar a GitLab

GitLab is totally free and can be hosted on premise.
Alejandro
Calificación general
  • Sector: Internet
  • Tamaño de la empresa: 11-50 empleados
  • Software usado A diario durante Más de un año
  • Fuente de la reseña

Calificación general

  • Relación calidad-precio
  • Facilidad de uso
  • Asistencia al cliente
  • Probabilidad de recomendación 9.0 /10

The best opensource tool for software engineering management

Revisado el 26/5/2021

We're hosting all of our private code repositories on gitlab.com, using the issue tracker, merge requests. We also run our continuos builds and deploy directly to our Google Cloud Kubernetes Engine workloads.

Puntos a favor

It's opensource though provides a cloud based solution with a really good free tier. It allows integrating code repositories with issue tracking and continuos integration and continuos deployment

Desventajas

User experience could be largely improved. Searching and filters are a bit clunky from the UX point of view. Also bulk actions are only allowed at project level.

Alternativas consideradas

Jira

Razones para elegir GitLab

We wanted to have issue tracking, code repositories, merge requests and continuos integration/deployment all in the same tool.

Software anterior

Trello y Bitbucket

Razones para cambiar a GitLab

It was the best alternative for our budget, and it allowed us to use our own Google Cloud Platform account to run Continuos Integration/Deployment jobs
Corentin
Calificación general
  • Sector: Internet
  • Tamaño de la empresa: 201-500 empleados
  • Software usado A diario durante Más de dos años
  • Fuente de la reseña

Calificación general

  • Relación calidad-precio
  • Facilidad de uso
  • Asistencia al cliente
  • Probabilidad de recomendación 9.0 /10

Git Super powers

Revisado el 25/1/2021

I enjoy using GitLab everyday, whether it's at work or at home. It saves me lot of time with its CI/CD and allows me to have my private projects hosted on my own servers which is a must in term of privacy.

Puntos a favor

GitLab is an awesome tool to use everyday. It is simple and easy to install on premise. The free tier is enough for any small business / team.

What really makes GitLab stands in front of the competition are its awesome CI/CD workflows. GitLab CI is incredible, you can do anything you want with it from building your sources, checking your code quality, deploying your projects... It is possible to make connections between various pipelines and have multiple repositories connected together to build your final "big" project.

Desventajas

Even if GitLab is simple to use, it's a big piece of software that can sometimes become slow on the web user interface.
Moreover the review system is sometimes not so easy to use compared to other competitors. Hopefully their are great browser extensions that solves this issues.

Alternativas consideradas

GitHub

Razones para elegir GitLab

Needed better CI/CD.

Software anterior

Bitbucket

Razones para cambiar a GitLab

Free and open-source, easily host-able on premise.
Thiago
Calificación general
  • Sector: Software informático
  • Tamaño de la empresa: 51-200 empleados
  • Software usado A diario durante Más de un año
  • Fuente de la reseña

Calificación general

  • Facilidad de uso
  • Probabilidad de recomendación 9.0 /10

Great for DevOps teams

Revisado el 31/12/2020

Puntos a favor

GitLab has all the must-have features for complete development and deployment flow.
The easy-to-configure pipeline is a differential, mainly due to the possibility of installing the agent (GitLab runner) in our infrastructure.
Issue management and merge requests are excellent and do not fall short of your direct competitors.
I use the GitLab in the cloud (SaaS) and on-premises, and it supplies my DevOps needs and team collaboration on the code review process.

Desventajas

On bitbucket, it is possible to see in realtime when a coworker is reviewing the merge request (pull request). It would be great to see this feature on GitLab too. The Runner registration is a bit harder when using an automation like Ansible.

Alternativas consideradas

GitHub y Azure DevOps Services

Software anterior

Bitbucket

Razones para cambiar a GitLab

The gitlab pipeline feature.
Edward
Calificación general
  • Sector: Software informático
  • Tamaño de la empresa: 51-200 empleados
  • Software usado A diario durante Más de dos años
  • Fuente de la reseña

Calificación general

  • Relación calidad-precio
  • Facilidad de uso
  • Asistencia al cliente
  • Probabilidad de recomendación 10.0 /10

Git Awesome

Revisado el 8/7/2020

It is such a great system. We use it daily at work and I integrated it into my homelab as well to keep change controls and ci/cd under control. It has made my homelab crazy efficient when I need to do things. For work it makes our daily tasks very easy to manage and it's much more integrated than having to build out all of the atlassian stack.

Puntos a favor

This product is excellent and has both enterprise edition and community edition making it very inexpensive to get into and then moving to enterprise once setup and still very inexpensive compared to other options out there. You also can set up a private gitlab server either in docker or bare metal. I cannot rave enough about git lab.

Desventajas

There's not much to not like about it. It's a very capable system that can be deployed in every type of way imaginable. If I was to nitpick then I would say adding additional users can be a pain without having self registration available.

Alternativas consideradas

Jira, Bitbucket y Confluence

Razones para cambiar a GitLab

We utilize them side by side for different tasks. Our atlassian stack is used for more dev purposes as that team is more comfortable with it as opposed to gitlab where our infrastructure team utilizes it.
Andrei
Calificación general
  • Sector: Internet
  • Tamaño de la empresa: Trabajador autónomo
  • Software usado A diario durante Más de dos años
  • Fuente de la reseña

Calificación general

  • Facilidad de uso
  • Probabilidad de recomendación 9.0 /10

A great free alternative to GitHub if you need large repos and teams

Revisado el 2/4/2020

GitLab helped us solve all of our backup and collaboration needs for our large file projects. While we do have on-site physical backups just in case, GitLab is great at keeping the core files safe. On the physical backup we put big assets and on GitLab mostly the code.

If it wasn't for GitLab we'd be using GitHub for some projects only as certain files surpass their limit.

Puntos a favor

The biggest pro for us at JeFawk Games (me and my freelancing friends, not employees as stated) was the fact that it allowed for 1GB of space for free in private repos! Since we're working on games, we really needed the space and the privacy. This was from before GitHub was acquired by Microsoft and gave away unlimited free repos.

Time forwarding a bit and GitHub is giving out free private repos of max 1GB with the option to use the Large File Storage thing, which in GitLab you don't need to bother with as you get it by default.

It includes DevOps and a lot of other features that frankly we don't make use of.

It's just the much bigger space by default and up to 3 collaborators. GitLab is great! Although it does have some cons....

Desventajas

One of the biggest problem with GitLab is that their website is a bit laggy. You can wait 1 to 4 seconds for some pages to load.
Another issue is that we actually use the GitHub Desktop application to handle GitLab repositories and the setup to connect the application to GitLab is kinda clunky, more like to allow GitLab to be grabbed as URL. Wouldn't wanna go through that again, hopefully they already streamlined it as last time I did it was about 2 years ago.

Usuario verificado
Calificación general
  • Sector: Marketing y publicidad
  • Tamaño de la empresa: 51-200 empleados
  • Software usado A diario durante Más de dos años
  • Fuente de la reseña

Calificación general

  • Relación calidad-precio
  • Facilidad de uso
  • Asistencia al cliente
  • Probabilidad de recomendación 9.0 /10

A discrete item in your toolkit

Revisado el 10/3/2020

It is easy to use and don't impose itself it's own way to proceed.

At some point gitlab.com had big performances issues, it was very slow. Even posting a simple issue was a pain. Those issues got fixed and it is now very fast. In case of maintenance or temporary issues, they have a very transparent way of proceeding and we always receive alerts and/or post mortems.

Puntos a favor

You just forget about Gitlab. As it provide a whole devops toolkit, it integrates discretely in your workflow. It doesn't require training, and if needed for advanced use, it got an extensive documentation as any open source tool should have. The UI makes it easy to use without thinking about it. What you don't understand first, you'll find an usage if needed on day.

The fact it got integrated CI/CD is incredible. I am very reluctant to Docker technologies and wouldn't beat myself to deal with them, but I really like them the way they are integrated in the CI/CD: it makes possible to test the applications in a very efficient and simple maneer and improve the overall quality and security of my products.

Desventajas

What I really don't like is that, if it is possible do deactivate some feature of a repository because you don't use them, there are some that overload the UI and you cannot remove them because Gitlab use it as a way to make you upgrade to the next plan.

Peter
Calificación general
  • Sector: Educación superior
  • Tamaño de la empresa: 501-1.000 empleados
  • Software usado A diario durante Más de dos años
  • Fuente de la reseña

Calificación general

  • Relación calidad-precio
  • Facilidad de uso
  • Probabilidad de recomendación 8.0 /10

Code repositories and version tracking

Revisado el 10/1/2020

GitLab ensures our code is safe and secure, everything is version tracked, we can easily collaborate with other colleagues and allows for a good QA environment before launch.

Puntos a favor

GitLab allows users to easily store their code projects and files in a safe and secure environment, allowing easy collaboration amongst users.
You can import repositories from other Git tools (such as GitHub) with ease, GitLab also imports any version history and accompanying branches.
The ability to make certain repositories private is excellent, most similar git systems charge extra for this service.

Desventajas

The user-interface, though clean and responsive, can be hard to use and master. Especially for new users, training is definitely required.
The integration with interfacing tools is lacking, most systems (such as GitKraken) require a premium license to connect with GitLab.
User management can be complicated, as the user interface isn't particularly clear here, and the different levels of access aren't clearly identified.

Usuario verificado
Calificación general
  • Sector: Software informático
  • Tamaño de la empresa: 2-10 empleados
  • Software usado A diario durante Más de un año
  • Fuente de la reseña

Calificación general

  • Facilidad de uso
  • Probabilidad de recomendación 10.0 /10

Great platform to host your project!

Revisado el 12/12/2019

Overall, GitLab is a good for development. Most commonly used features such as MR and code review work very well on GitLab. The best feature on GitLab is CI/CD, it has everything you need to build an automated pipeline, from build agents to container registry.
However, the exploration feature is not as robust as other services and there is still a lot of rooms for improvement.

Puntos a favor

GitLab CI is great. The GitLab CI/CD language allows us to build complex pipelines easily, pipeline's configs are stored in the repository as well, so we can manage everything in one place. GitLab also has built-in Docker registry. We have both our build pipeline and our images hosted on GitLab.
The pricing is also flexible, I recommend it for both startup and large enterprises.

Desventajas

Explore Projects feature can be better, it would be more useful if we have a filter to select projects by technologies.
Should support templates on the job level, so it can be reused between multiple environments.
Lack of integration: there are not many 3rd party services that integrate with GitLab for now.

Alternativas consideradas

GitHub y Bitbucket

Razones para elegir GitLab

Better CI/CD

Software anterior

Bitbucket

Razones para cambiar a GitLab

Better CI/CD